Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Something like Hate (Chicago Grizzlies, #1) by Piper Rayne ~ Book Review






I love him.

I loathe him.

It’s like plucking daisy petals in my head, but he’ll never know.

When Miles Cavanaugh, the best safety in the league, was traded to the Chicago Grizzlies football team last year, I could finally breathe. Temptation was miles away.

How na├»ve to think it would end there because when the opportunity to write for a national magazine based in Chicago lands in my lap months later, I can’t turn it down. Sure, it’s a big city, but the sexual energy feels like a beacon between us the minute my plane lands.

To make matters worse, I end up having to take over the job of reporting exclusively on the Chicago Grizzlies. Which means traveling with the team, interviewing players, and pretty much having an all-access pass to their lives during the season.

Miles and I put up a great front, quickly hating on one another, but we both know it’s a lie. We also know the rules are simple. For me, don’t sleep with the subject of your articles. For him, don’t sleep with the journalist who can make or break your career.

I thought straight-laced Miles Cavanaugh followed all the rules… oh how wrong I was.










Download today on Amazon, Apple Books, Audible, Barnes & Noble, Google Play, and Kobo!


Other Retailers ➡ https://books2read.com/slhate

Audio Narrated by: Tim Paige & Stefanie Kay

Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/3EUnSiU





I am so glad we finally got Miles and Bryce's story; if you read the KINGSMEN FOOTBALL STAR Series, you have met both of them, and you know how much they can't stand one another what you don't know is why, but you get all the answers you crave and so much more in this first book of the CHICAGO GRIZZLIES Series. If you haven't read the previously mentioned series, no worries. This can be read separately from that one without difficulties. I would, however, recommend reading the FREE Prequel Novella that starts this series, ON THE DEFENSE. It sets up this book and the rest of the series nicely.

Miles was traded mid-season last year to the Chicago Grizzlies, and he had to watch his former team go on to win the Super Bowl, but one bright side of it all was that he was away from Bryce. Bryce was offered a position at a National Sports Magazine, which happens to be based out of Chicago; it's a big city, right? No worries about running into Miles there, especially since she isn't covering his team, right? LOL, if only things were that easy.

Miles and Bryce's story is filled with HEAT, Vulnerability, Understanding, and Forgiveness. 

I recommend this book to Adult readers who enjoy STEAMY Contemporary Romances, Sports Romances, Enemies to Lovers Romances, Second Chance at Love Romances, or Workplace Romances.

Happy Reading!!!

**I have voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Readers Copy of this book for my Blog, Nadine's Obsessed with Books**






Piper Rayne is a USA Today Bestselling Author duo who write "heartwarming humor with a side of sizzle" about families, whether that be blood or found. They both have e-readers full of one-clickable books, they're married to husbands who drive them to drink, and they're both chauffeurs to their kids. Most of all, they love hot heroes and quirky heroines who make them laugh, and they hope you do, too!







No comments:

Post a Comment